



Mehr Chand Mahajan DAV College for Women Sector-36/A Chandigarh

<u>www.mcmdavcw-chd.edu</u> 0172- 2603355, 0172- 2624921 The Debating Society of Mehr Chand Mahajan DAV College for Women organized its Annual Talent Hunt competition on 6 Sept 2022 with more than 150 registrations for declamation and poetry recitation in Hindi, English and Punjabi. In English Declamation, Ist prize went to Ridhi Suyal (BA 1), followed by Eva Negi of (BA 1) in second place and Shobhna (BA 2) and Eliza Sharma (BA 1) sharing the third place. A Consolation prize was given to Simran K. Ghuman. In English poetry recitation, Jahnvi Sayal (BA 1) stood first while in Hindi poetry recitation, Jannat (BA 1) was first. In Punjabi poetry recitation, Harsimran (BA 2) and Sehajpreet (BA 2) stood first and second respectively.

At the Zonal Youth festival hosted by Guru Gobind Singh College for Women Chandigarh on 17 and 19 to 21 October 2022, Niharika Chaudhary BA 2 1835 won the first prize in Elocution and Bhavika Mehta B SC NM (3) 496 won the first prize in Debate on 21 October 2022. They also represented the zone in the Inter Zonal Youth festival held at Swami Preman and Mahavidyalaya, Mukerian in Nov 2022.

Ojaswini Sachdeva if BA 2 (1759) won the 3rd prize in the Elocution contest on the theme "Mujhe Akash Choona Hai" organised by Young Women on the Move in collaboration with MAYA Foundation and Dept cum Centre for Women Studies, Panjab University on 25 Jan 2023.

The Rotary Club Chandigarh organized the Vishnu Kumar Gupta Memorial Debate Competition at Shivalik View Hotel on 3 Feb 2023 in two rounds. Jahanvi Bhoomla (2614) and Diva Gill (1647) of BA 2 won the second prize as a team.

The Debating Society organized an Intracollege Debate and Declamation Contest on the theme of G20 under the aegis of Department of Higher Education, Chandigarh and the Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan, Chandigarh on 7 March 2023. In debate, Kudrat of BA 1 bagged the first position followed by Manraj of BA 1. Consolation prize was given to Venus Thakur of BA 3. Riya Chaturvedi of BA 1 stood first in declamation followed by Arushi and Rewa Mehra from BA 1 and BSc MFT III were second and third respectively. Khushi Gupta from B Com II received consolation prize in the same.